Are you done with Instagram? If you’re certain, then it’s time to delete your account. This tutorial will show you how to delete your Instagram account on both mobile and desktop. Be aware that once your account is gone, it cannot be recovered. So if you change your mind, simply log back in within 30 days and continue using Instagram as usual.
With that being said, let’s get started.
A Brief Consideration before Proceeding
Before deleting your Instagram account, it is essential to be aware of the consequences. Deleting your account will delete all content and information associated with it, including profile pictures, comments, archived messages, and saved stories.
Thus, it would be wise to double-check if you have backed up your Instagram content before proceeding with the delete process. Being mindful and well-informed is the key to a successful delete process.
How to Delete Instagram Account on Phone and PC Permanently – Steps with Pictures
Deleting Instagram Account on Mobile
Deleting an Instagram account on android or iOS mobile is easier than ever! With just a few steps, you can quickly and easily deactivate or permanently remove your Instagram account from your android or iOS device.
Follow the steps below –
1. First, tap the profile icon located in the bottom-right corner of your screen.
2. Then go to “Settings” by tapping the three lines in the top-right corner.
3. Scroll to find “Account” and select it.
4. From there, select “Delete Your Account”.
5. Then choose one of the two deletion options: “Deactivate or Permanently Delete” your account.
After you have selected an option, follow the steps onscreen to confirm the deletion of your Instagram account on mobile.
Deleting Instagram Account on Desktop
Deleting your Instagram account from a desktop is an easy process that can be done in just a few steps.
1. First, log in to your Instagram account on the web browser of your choice.
2. Navigate to the Delete Your Account page here.
3. Select an appropriate reason to delete Insta account permanently from the dropdown.
4. Enter your Password.
5. Hit the Delete button.
Once you confirm your choice and click ‘Permanently delete my account’, your profile, posts, comments, likes and all other data will be removed from Instagram’s servers after 30 to 40 days of the deletion request. Meanwhile your account details will be hidden.
If you decide to reinstate the deleted account within two weeks of deletion, you will still have access to all of the content from before.
Delete Insta Account Forever: Alternative Ways you can Try
Instead of deleting Instagram account permanently, there are two other ways you can try to take a break from this social media platform without losing your followers, content, and other data that you have gathered after years of efforts.
It includes, either deactivate Instagram account temporarily or remove the Instagram app from the mobile until you make up your mind to reuse the app again.
Deactivate Instagram Account Temporarily
Deleting an Instagram account can be a tricky task. If you only want to take a break from the platform temporarily, we have you covered.
All you have to do is delete your account temporarily which ensures that all your information and photos stay safe and can be recovered if you decide to come back in the future.
Here’s how to deactivate Insta account on desktop –
1. First, visit Instagram.com in your web browser and login into your account.
2. Click on “More” option seeing in the left bottom side.
3. Navigate to “Settings”.
4. Scroll down a little and click on “Temporarily Deactivate My Account” option.
5. Next, provide a “reason for deactivation” and enter your “Password”.
6. Hit the “Temporarily Deactivate Account” button.
Done, now all your account details will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging into your account again.
Mobile users can follow the same steps I explained in the Deleting Instagram Account on Mobile section.
Remove Instagram App from your Phone
Removing Instagram application from your android or iPhone is an another alternative you can try instead of deleting Insta account permanently.
Here’s how to remove Insta App from mobile –
1. First, tap and hold the Instagram app icon for a while.
2. The icon start flickering and X icon will appear.
3. Hit the X icon, in iOS device select “Remove App” option from the prompt.
Done, it will delete the Instagram app from your mobile phone.
When should you Delete your Instagram Account?
Deciding when to delete your Instagram account is a personal decision that is based on individual needs.
For some, it might be the right choice when social media becomes too disruptive and interfering with real-life connections. It may also make sense to delete an Instagram account if you’re no longer interested in using the platform or if sensitive data is being shared without your knowledge.
Ultimately, you should delete your account whenever it is no longer serving its purpose for you, whatever that may be.
Permanently Deleting Vs Deactivating an Instagram Account: Key Differences
When it comes to taking action on an Instagram account, users can either permanently delete or deactivate their accounts. The main difference between the two is that permanently deleting a account removes all content associated with the profile, while deactivating an account will let users log back in and have access to all the previous data associated with the account.
So if you’re planning on returning to Instagram at a later date, it’s better to deactivate your account rather than permanently delete it.
However, if you are ready to fully commit to leaving Instagram, then make sure to permanently delete your account instead.
What Happens When you Delete Instagram Account?
Deleting an Instagram account permanently removes all content on your profile, including photos, videos, comments, and followers. Your account name will also become unsearchable and unavailable to access again in the future.
Before you make a final decision to delete your Instagram account, you should be certain that this is the right step for you as it’s irreversible once completed.
Taking a break from the platform is always an alternative solution to consider before deleting an Instagram account permanently.
Also Read – How to Make a Group Chat on Instagram on Android and iPhone?
If you have made up your mind to delete your Instagram account, we hope this article helped you understand the process better. Remember to keep in mind the implications of such a decision before proceeding. Once you have decided, deleting your account is not very difficult and can be done from both desktop and mobile devices.
We hope this article was helpful in guiding you through the process!